JD Salinger

The reclusive author JD Salinger has died aged 91. His novel, The Catcher in the Rye, lent a voice to the angst and despair felt by generations of rebellious teenagers.

Even though he was one of the most admired and influential US writers following the success of Catcher and its anti-hero, Holden Caulfield, Salinger published nothing after 1965 and had not been interviewed since 1980.

Salinger still wrote, but there has been no sign of any new book and in a rare 1980 interview with the Boston Sunday Globe, he said: “I love to write, and I assure you I write regularly. But I write for myself and I want to be left absolutely alone to do it.”

Leave a Reply

