Night

“Never shall I forget that night, the first night in the camp, which has turned my life into one long night, seven times cursed and seven times sealed. Never shall I forget that smoke. Never shall I forget the little faces of the children, whose bodies I saw turned into wreaths of smoke beneath a silent blue sky. Never shall I forget those flames which consumed my faith forever…Never shall I forget these things, even if I am condemned to live as long as God Himself. Never.”

Night by Elie Wiesel is a terrifying account of the Nazi death camp horror that turns a young Jewish boy into an agonised witness to the death of his family, of his innocence, and of his God.

For an interesting resource to learn more about the Holocaust and genocide try The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Leave a Reply

