The District Six Museum : The Good News

Noor Ebrahim, who was expelled from Cape Town’s District Six suburb under apartheid, talks about Nelson Mandela – and the good news about the suburb:

(Transcript of video clip soundtrack)

If you look at Mr. Mandela. He spent 27 years behind bars, fighting apartheid. And Mandela was a freedom fighter. But you know what the government called Mandela? They said he was a terrorist. He wasn’t a terrorist, he was a freedom fighter. Nobody wanted to release Mandela. Of course FW [FW de Klerk] made the changes. Maybe he was forced to but he made the changes. And I remember when Mandela was released in 1990. All he said was I don’t hate you and I forgive you for what you did to me. So Mandela is a very, very good example, not only to South Africans, but I think to the world in forgiving people.

I was, what, almost 51 years old when I had my first vote. And I couldn’t believe it, you know, I just couldn’t believe it. As I said never thought I would see this day. But we just glad its over. And also, when I say this, people can’t understand this also when I say whatever the government did to us we don’t hate them, we forgive them.

The good news is people who used to live here are coming back. So they were building houses again. In fact the first 24 families moved in already. People over the ages of 80 and 90, the elderly, but they are going to build between three and four thousand houses. People are very, very excited. I am so excited I can’t wait to move back, because District Six will always be my home. My heart is still here. That’s why I am really looking forward to moving back here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

