Quotes for Phoebe

We have to raise the consciousness; the only way poets can change the world is to raise the consciousness of the general populace.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti

“I am completely African. I am a citizen of Africa; I’m a son of Africa – that is my culture. I know I write poems that sound European, because I was brought up in school to do that, but, if you look at my poems carefully, you will find that all of them, I think, have an African flavour.”

Tatamkhulu Afrika

You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty.

Mahatma Gandhi

Humanity is never so beautiful as when praying for forgiveness, or else forgiving another.

Jean Paul Richter

Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them humanity cannot survive.

Dalai Lama

One day our descendants will think it incredible that we paid so much attention to things like the amount of melanin in our skin or the shape of our eyes or our gender instead of the unique identities of each of us as complex human beings.

Franklin Thomas

And each of us can practice rights ourselves, treating each other without discrimination, respecting each other’s dignity and rights.

Carol Bellamy

Racial discrimination, South Africa’s economic power, its oppression and exploitation of all the black peoples, are part and parcel of the same thing.

Oliver Tambo

“If we aren’t willing to pay a price for our values, if we aren’t willing to make some sacrifices in order to realize them, then we should ask ourselves whether we truly believe in them at all.”

A Barack Obama quote from his book, “Audacity of Hope”

During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people, I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if it needs be it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.

Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

