The book that changed my life – Rhian

Rhian has chosen a childhood favourite – Hop on Pop.

“Hop on Pop” by Dr. Seuss, would have to be the best children’s book of all time. This book has been passed through our family right through from me the oldest, my sister, my brother, and now it is my four year old brother’s turn to learn and treasure it. According to my mum I have loved it since the first time I heard the book, as my mum used to read to me while she was pregnant and I would kick every time it was read to me.  As I have gotten older I have realised the true naivety of the story is what makes it so lovable. The rhyming and unrealistic fun of the story really invites children to just have fun, this has made a huge impact on me as I think this helped me to enjoy reading. This can actually be quite important as many children grow up disliking reading making it harder to learn. I truly love Dr Seuss stories and I believe his writing is an art, children can aspire to his weird and wonderful characters and have fun in the wacky world of Dr Seuss.

Leave a Reply

