The book that changed my life – Courtney

A book that changed my life was the book  My Sister’s Keeper written by Jodi Picoult. I first read this book in the middle of 2009 when it was made into a film. My Sister’s Keeper had just been released on DVD and I really wanted to watch, but my mum had made a rule I wasn’t allowed to watch the film until I had read the book. My Sister’s Keeper is a book about a 13-year old girl called Anna who sues her parents for medical emancipation when her parents expect her to donate a kidney to her elder sister Kate who is dying from leukaemia.

This book changed my life because it opened my eyes to the immoral things that parents will do to save the life of another sibling. I personally think that it is ethically wrong for parents to birth a child for the purpose of donating organs, blood and bone marrow especially from a young age when the children cannot give consent to it.

Leave a Reply

