The book that changed my life – Charlie

Charlie’s book is A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

It was my first chapter book that I had ever owned. My granny bought it for me for my 8th birthday. It took a while for me to actually read it, as it was the first time I was introduced to a reasonably big book and the words on the pages were quite small, there were also very few pictures in the book and I found them quite unattractive because they were in black and white. So I often got bored or distracted and forgot about the book until I was about 10 or 11 and I decided to read the book from the beginning. Once I finished, I discovered that I had much more appreciation for things I already owned and was not interested in buying the new or latest gadgets anymore, and was much happier with the things I already have. It’s why I take good care of much of my belongings now, because I feel that they all have sentimental value. I found that I also tend not to focus on appearances and not judge people in a superficial way.

One thought on “The book that changed my life – Charlie

Leave a Reply

