If I Stay by Gayle Forman


I have just finished If I Stay by Gayle Forman. It is a well written and moving novel that will stay with you. Author Gayle Forman describes the novel as a book for kids precisely because it explores serious themes. She believes that, “teenagers are grappling with choices about life and love as much as adults, so why shouldn’t their reading reflect that? I don’t set out to write YA. It just seems like I’m drawn to stories about young people. That said, I think If I Stay is for adults, too. I love the idea of teens reading this book and then handing it off to their parents.”

Read Teen Reads review here.

I recommend this novel and have added comments from reviews of If I Stay below.

“The brilliance of the book is the simplicity.”

– Wall Street Journal

“I can’t imagine anyone who wouldn’t be captivated by [this novel.] Gayle’s insight into teens and her exploration of the many facets of love and family are hard to forget.”

– Family Circle

“Forman squarely nails the types of questions teens find fascinating.”

– Chicago Sun Times

“A teen book that will stay with you – even if you’re not a teen.”

– San Francisco Chronicle

“Beautifully written.”

– Entertainment Weekly

“[A] beautiful novel.”

– Los Angeles Times

“This is an achingly beautiful story.”

– NPR’s The Roundtable

“A powerful and intense book.”

– Justine Magazine

“Brutal and beautiful…”

– School Library Journal, starred review

“Intensely moving… will recall Alice Sebold’s novel, The Lovely Bones.”

– Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Tiny but powerful details…will draw readers into this masterful text.”

– Kirkus Reviews, starred review

2 thoughts on “If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: If I Stay | english@cc readers and writers

Leave a Reply

