Boys Don’t Cry

We have a set of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses and it is a book that some students enjoy so much that they go on to read the rest of the series. I found Blackman’s latest novel, Boys Don’t Cry well worth reading and I would highly recommend it.

Boys Don’t Cry is a very readable book that looks at teenage pregnancy from the point of view of a young father. Dante is anxiously awaiting his A-level results as he hopes to go to university and become a journalist.  However, the day they’re due to arrive his old girlfriend Melanie turns up unexpectedly with a baby. Dante is shocked to be left quite literally holding the baby.

The novel’s take on teenage pregnancy is a fresh one and it is interesting to get a male perspective. Dante and Melanie had one drunken sexual episode which left them with baby Emma. Melanie told none of her friends that she was pregnant, Dante had no idea he was a dad and the appearance of Emma in his life left him both shocked and angry.

Dante does come to terms with single parenthood and his journey is memorable and moving.Blackman uses both Dante and his younger brother Adam to tell the story and this is a strength of the book. Adam is an openly gay and he provides much of the humour and ultimately pathos of the novel. I guess some people may find some of the subject matter controversial but I think teenagers would find it a great, thought-provoking read.

One thought on “Boys Don’t Cry

  1. I have just finished reading this book and I have to say it is one of the best books I have read in a long time, but for completely different reasons. Normally I’m not really into the deep and meaningful genre that ‘Boy don’t cry’ fits in to, but the way Malorie Blackman has wrote this book is, what I would call Genius!
    It amazes me just how real the book seemed whilst I was reading it. The perception of the characters’ attitude was the thing that impressed me the most. From Josh, the boy who couldn’t accept who he was and was living his life in a lie, to the sweet and naive Emma. Malorie Blackman nailed the reality of true personality in their characters. I especially like the way that this book was written from a male perspective, I don’t believe that the book would have been as impacting if it had been written from the typical single teenage mum perspective.
    To begin with I found the small no scratch that, miniscule insights into How Adam was feeling irritating, I mean you would just start to get into Dante’s situation with Emma and then a little excerpt from Adam head would appear and really agitate me. But now, having read the whole book, I realise just how much more we learn about Adam in those pages. They somehow make us feel like we know him as well and it makes us feel his pain and grief even more. They make such an Impact that you don’t actually get hit with until the very end of the book
    Another thing that impressed me about this book was the way that Malorie Blackman tackled very controversial issues such as teenage pregnancy and homophobia with ease. Malorie Blackman hasn’t always been a politically correct writer, pushing the boundaries in the Noughts and Crosses series as well. She talks about things people normally don’t and brings the reality of these issues to the public’s eyes. I have great respect for Malorie Blackman and the way she writes. She is one of the best writers this century has seen.

Leave a Reply

