Michael Morpurgo’s rules for writers

The Guardian asked some of the most esteemed contemporary authors for any golden rules they bring to their writing practice. Here are Michael Morpurgo’s:

1. The prerequisite for me is to keep my well of ideas full. This means living as full and varied a life as possible, to have my antennae out all the time.

 

2. Ted Hughes gave me this advice and it works wonders: record moments, fleeting impressions, overheard dialogue, your own sadnesses and bewilderments and joys.

 

3. A notion for a story is for me a confluence of real events, historical perhaps, or from my own memory to create an exciting fusion.

 

4. It is the gestation time which counts.

Read the rest here.

 

Leave a Reply

