What’s a film you love?

Often in class we talk about films that we have enjoyed but what is a film that you have truly loved? One film that I would put in this category would be Truly, Madly, Deeply directed by Anthony Minghella. The story focuses on Nina (Juliet Stevenson – a fantastic performance) who can’t break free from her grief over the death of her partner, Jamie (Alan Rickman, pre-Snape), a cellist whom she ‘truly, madly, deeply’ loved.  I don’t know why I loved this film so much as on the surface it is just a romantic comedy but the performances are simply so good that it hooks you in like few movies of this genre do. I do remember that the part of Nina was written for Stephenson and that she is unbelievably good, appearing to be totally grief stricken and that she does not hold back as she sobs and weeps and wails for Jamie. Alan Rickman is predictably terrific and funny, particularly in the scenes with his ghost friends. I haven’t seen this film for many years and I wonder if I would still like it as much but I hope I would. Here’s a scene:

38 thoughts on “What’s a film you love?

  1. ‘Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels’ is easily one of the greatest films I have ever seen. Why this is, I’m not even certain of myself. It isn’t that the film has amazing special effects, or even that much of an intriguing or exciting storyline. I think what makes this film so great is the lack of these things. The ordinary, even average feel of the film means the characters seem more accessible and we get to connect with them on a better level. The fact that the film is so relaxed, with no real action scenes or gripping moments makes it easy to watch with no outside thinking required. Another characteristic of this easiness is the passe depiction of violence and blood. The violent scenes are just a part of the background, and this all helps to contribute to the sense of confusion and how overwhelmed the boys are once they realise the enormity of the situation they have gotten themselves into.

    All in all, I think the reason I love ‘Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels’ so much is the fact it is utterly unique. There have been other gangster movies, and there have been other heist movies, but none of them have managed to achieve what ‘Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels’ have, and I don’t know if any film ever will.

  2. Everyone has at least one film they can remember looking forward to watching since they first heard of it’s existence; for me this film was Starship Troopers. For over seven years I was told stories of the greatness (and apparent cheesiness) which the film entailed, but who can resist the strong allure of enormous mutant alien insects coupled with explicit and excessive gore? I certainly couldn’t and when the time eventually came for me to experience the film for myself, I was not disappointed in the slightest.

    Starship Troopers is a film which very clearly focusses on the large-scale battles which occur between the human forces and “The Bugs”, as well as highlighting the experiences which the main characters endure due to their work for the Mobile Infantry. For me personally, this was one of the most enticing aspects of the film, and having the ability to witness what day to day life would be like for military recruits ensured that the film did not completely leave the realm of possible futures for mankind. Having said that, it’s still bloody good fun to watch the chaotic battles unfold between the technically advanced human race and the barbaric, emotionless Bugs.

    After viewing the film more than a couple of times, I was also able to identify messages which had originally been unnoticed by me. Despite the constant reminders by the humans throughout the film that they are more than The Bugs, the way in which they treat each other, especially during the almost-impossible-to-watch scene of private Johnny Rico enduring twenty lashes at the hands of his commanding officers. As the film progresses, the line between “doing what’s right” and “doing what’s necessary” becomes more and more blurred, and this left me wondering just how much violence it would take before the human race of the future became just as horrible as The Bugs they are trying to defend Earth from.

  3. Back in 2008, some of my schoolmates went to the Auschwitz camp.
    In Europe children are confronted with the history -our history- of the World Wars from a very early age. I remember going to a memorial for Flemish troops that died, and I remember going to another one for French troops, and another one for the British, and yes some more somewhere else. But somehow us kids never truly realised how bad it had actually been.
    When my friends came back from Auschwitz they brought us stories of bulletholes in the walls, of scratchmarks in the gas-chambers and of half-dug graves, never filled up.
    I don’t think we can understand how the the Jews felt back then, but I think that my friends got sufficient an image. They were clearly devastated.
    I, however, was still clueless.
    Then I saw The Pianist. To say it moved me would be an understatement. I had seen Schindler’s List, that movie moved me. But The Pianist was different.
    The performance by Adrien Brody epitomised the Jewish despair. You could feel the sadness, the hopelessness, the loneliness. The pianist is alwyas running away, and everytime the Germans get close I would hold my breath. The true cherry on top was the music. The way the pianist conveyed his emotions through the instrument was sublime.
    After the movie ended I thought I had seen a glimpse of the madness and horror of those days and the next time I walked past a memorial, I bowed my head with a lot more respect and understanding than I used to.

  4. The 1982 film ‘Annie’ is based on a series of musicals originating in 1924. In my opinion the heartwarming movie is based on a story, that despite your age, gender or authenticity you will be able to relate to the little girl whos dreams came true. Okay so you may not be an orphan dressd in rags singing ‘it’s a hard-knock life for me’, but the concept of wanting a little more than we have is never short in today’s society.
    As a child I watchd this movie repeatedly, until the day mum claimed it had mysteriously disappeared. Even now I’m not too sure of why I was so obsessd with this film. Whether it was our simularity in untameable red curly hair?The catchy sing alongs insuring me ‘your never fully dressed without a smile’? or the unrealistic ability for these young orphans to be smiling from ear to ear whilst mopping floors? Either way i like to think it was the optimism Annie held throughout the years which finally proved that dreams can come true.

    Despite having what seemd to be the world against her, Annie finds a home that loves her as much as she loved it and family that cared for her more than she knew was capeable. At 4years old im sure my dreams at the time were more focusd on eating M&M’s on a monday morning, hoping that mum would surrender from her ‘weekend only’ rule. But hey a dreams a dream, and Annie proved that anything is possible. 🙂

  5. Ever since I was a little kid I have been in love with films. I just loved how I could watch the amazing adventures of professors searching for lost gold or men dressing up in costumes fighting armed criminals in my living room. Action films were my favourite up until I saw one film which changed my life, the film that started my fixation with the Sci-Fi genre. Star wars IV : New Hope. This stunning master piece by George Lucas amazed me. Ever since I first watched this film I have been in love with it. At the age of 6 my father revealed to me the awesomeness of the Sci-Fi genre with this film and ever since then I have treasured Star Wars IV. How could you not love this film, it is full of action, drama, love and pain and the greatest thing is it is set in the far reaches of space. The year was 2000 and i was amazed with space, like most kids i dreamed to grow up and become an astronaut and this film was to me a gateway into my dream. When i was a kid i loved this film because it had fighting, lightsabers, guns and spaceships however the great thing about this film is that it evolves with you. Now when i see this film I love different parts about it. I love the drama, the tension, the love and of coarse I love the god damn lightsabers, I mean who couldn’t. Starwars IV : New hope is my all time favourite film and I think I will love it until I die.

  6. Dead Snow is one of my favourite films as it is clearly a B-grade horror that Director Tommy Wirkola jammed as much gore into as possible. The plot is extremely basic where med students go to a cottage in Norway for a holiday. After a friend does not turn up the students get suspicious and a stranger wanders in to warn the students that Nazis had run to the hills for salvation and states that the mountains are cursed. The rest of the film is just filled with ridiculous amounts of gore with Nazi Zombies getting killed in the amusing and inventive ways. There are also a few war references with one character running up to a Nazi Zombie with a hammer and sickle in the shape of the Soviet Union symbol. I find this film appealing because the splatter effect on snow is fantastic and it is purely a visual film. You do not need to know what is happening to enjoy it and the ending is simple: Everyone dies.

  7. Growing up I always had books and even now I would prefer to read instead of sit down and watch a screen, so it is no surprise that my most loved film is based on a book, the 1936 book that I constantly read in my childhood; Ballet Shoes. With Great-Uncle Mathew (Gum) sending orphaned or abandoned children home as presents for his great niece, who was sent to him after her own parents died, the ‘Fossils’ became a trio of three girls; Pauline, Petrova, and Posy. After poverty hits, the girls have an opportunity to earn some money of their own by heading to a performing arts school and working on the stage. They have trials and just the right amount of suffering to pull at my emotions.
    I don’t think that the main appeal is in the likeness between the book and film, but is the casting. Each character cast was very close to the imaginings of my own mind. From the fiery red of Posy’s hair to the elegance of Pauline who was beautifully played by Emma Watson (who is also one of my favourite actresses), to the tomboy style of Petrova; everyone was perfect for their role. A lot of appeal was also from the focus of the dance and acting scenes. With a love of watching ballet and live theatre, the small rendition of Alice in Wonderland really made me remember having the book read to me when I was younger, the ballet classes made me reminisce about my own dance classes and exams when I was a kid, and the scene where Posy and ‘Madame’ actually go to a ballet always reminds me of going to all the ballets at Baycourt with my mum. The film really takes me down memory lane…

  8. Charismatic, fresh mouthed, 16 years old.
    Pregnant.
    Juno Macguff (Beautifully played by Ellen Page) is about as mature and conventional, as the indie-comedy-pregnancy subgenre allows.
    Although, contrary to common misconceptions, not all ‘teen drama’ based films feature angsty smart arses sobbing over breakups and curfews. Rather, the aspects of Juno’, (the filmic offspring of Jason Reitman and screen writing genius Diablo Cody) that caught my attention were the undeniably odd metaphors and refreshing plot line. Furthered, by personable, realistic (and somewhat cynical) supporting characters. Olivia Thrilby, who portrays Leah, Juno’s best friend, delivers an outstanding performance right down to a worryingly convincing “Woah check out baby big head. Dude, that thing is freaky looking”
    ‘Juno’ almost made being ‘up the spout’ look like a hell of a lot of fun. Almost.

    The predictability potential was shortly diminished after the first scene, where Juno establishes she is pregnant, and is faced to come to terms with the harsh reality that “This is one doodle that cant be undid.” Swiftly setting us up for the avant-garde nature in which this film follows, from Juno’s journey as an average teenager through to (not quite) acting as an adult.
    Sure, there are serious undercurrents, which forcibly make us consider the consequences to ourselves (and perhaps others) of rash decisions. In accompaniment to the rite of passage that is thinking of others before oneself. BUT, these were cunningly balanced out with letterboxes filled with orange tic-tacs and referencing the universal language that is, making fun of the kid who smells like soup.

    I found ‘Juno’ thouraghly enjoyable and this is largely credited to the witty one liners, incongruity and busting the myth of teenage idiosyncrasies.

    Also, Paulie Bleeker (Michael Cera) Is super cute.

  9. I truly loved ‘The King’s Speech’. This was probably because it was far from the stereotypical royals that I had expected. Instead, I found it surprisingly funny and I ended up being sucked in to the plot.
    The King’s Speech is based on the true story set just before England entered World War 2. King George VI, played by Colin Firth, had a severe stammer which made him absolutely terrified of public speaking. Unfortunately, he was forced to become king after his brother abdication. The King’s inability to speak in front of a large audience produced a powerful amount of tension and made me empathise with him.
    The King uses an Australian speech therapist who insists on building his relationship with the King by treating him as an equal. They attempt to overcome the King’s stammer so he can give speeches that would instil hope and encourage people to enlist and fight in the war. This unlikely friendship made the film more enjoyable for me as it added a lot of humour to the film.

  10. One of my favourite NZ films is “Boy” because it shows the viewer how some families are different to others. The plot is about a young Maori boy named “Boy”, played by James Rolleston and his younger brother Rocky, played by Te Aho Eketone Whitu growing up in rural NZ. The two brothers are being raised by their grandmother on a small farm because their mother died whilst giving birth to “Boy’s” younger brother.One day they are reunited with their dad – a wild character who belongs in the gang “Crazy Horses”.He is looking for the money that he has hidden in the past when running from the cops. The rest of the film is about the developing relationship between the two boys and their Dad.The renewed friendship involves getting to know their Dad and what Dad does with his life. The viewer wonders if dad really is a good role model. I found this film amusing but sad at the same time because it shows what a hard up bringing the boys have had and what they had to go through.

  11. We all grow up eventually. For most people it something that slowly progresses as we get closer to adulthood but then for the minority of society, that just never happens for us, and there is a chance it never will.

    For this reason there is one film that captavates me everytime I have the pleasure of experiencing it.
    Step Brothers is, the tale of my future, it is a very serious movie. It displays the way in which people like me spend their lives. Though it is very serious, there is a light hearted, witty humor, that director Adam McKay uses throughout the film to portray the way of life very easily.

    Will Ferrell and John C.Reilly play two outstanding characters that have the honour of living at home with their parents at the crisp age of 40.
    Both charcters are opposed of the idea of being brothers and become quite aggressive towards each other in the opening sequence of the film, ‘As soon as you close your eyes I’m going to take a pillow case, and fill it fill of bars of soap and beat the sh*t outta you!’ but they later learn how alike they both are and that it was fate that bought them together. ‘Do you wanna go do karate in the garage?! Yup!’ this is very typical in the situation presented to them and for this reason I find Step Brothers to be such an exciting, relatable, true story, that sits close to my heart.

  12. How does a film about two forty-something single losers who live with their parents sound?
    Along with being a little bit creepy and alarming, it is in truth, comedic royalty with every line being able to be made into a religion. Therefore, “Step Brothers” is my favourite comedy of all time. Not often can you watch a movie with Will Ferrell without feeling a strong sense of déjà-vu within a few seconds of the films running time, however comical genius and director Adam McKay (who also directed cult-status Ferrell movies Talladega Nights and Anchorman) certainly breaks the mould with this ridiculously funny film. Exploring a plot that hasn’t really been touched before, we are introduced to Brennan
    Huff (Ferrell) and Dale Doback (John C. Reilly), two one in a million characters who luckily succeed in making living with your parents and acting like a child at forty hilarious.

    Derek and Brennan are men whose maturity, for some reason, has been stuck in around the age of eight. Fate brings the two absurd freaks together when their single parents meet and become engaged. After a series of immature yet awesome insults (“Brennan has a man-gina!”) the step brothers become best of friends. Staying true to McKay style, the bonding over favourite dinosaurs, the idea of sleeping with John Stamos and karate in the garage is only achieved after a fight which peaks at Brennan rubbing his genitals on Dale’s beloved drum set. Of course, the step-brothers don’t stay best friends for long.

    The film is in a class of its own. The only parallels you can really draw is the sheer awkwardness and simplicity in the laugh-till-you-pee lines (“Holy Santa Claus’ s**t!”) that propelled “I Love You Man” into its fame of today.
    McKay creates my idea of the world’s greatest comedy, which forever changes the way the question “did you touch my drum set?” will make you feel.

  13. My favourite film, No Strings Attatched isnt the cliched romcom that some would make it out to be. Yes, a girl falls in love with a guy and they live happily ever after, but two great performances by Ashton Kutcher (Adam) and Natalie Portman (Emma) pull the film away from being another mediocre, B grade experience.

    The title No strings attatched alludes to the ‘friends with benefits’ relationship that Adam and Emma are trying to have. Inevitably it starts to get more complicated and serious, however this time it is the guy that starts to feel something deeper which is a relief from other films that portray a man with commitment issues.

  14. The world has been taken over by zombies; the ex-Americans now hunt for raw human flesh the mighty zombie apocalypse has finally started, for all zombie lovers this is the film to watch. The film shows the few survivors still roaming the crashed down America. The scrawny, geeky Columbus (Jesse Eisenberg) keeps to his rules for surviving Zombieland. Isolated from people because everyone has turned to beasts, he later on meets and tags along with the foul-mouthed, zombie killer known as Tallahassee (Woody Harrelson), their lives seem to be straight forward: kill zombies and hunt for the spongy, yellow, delicious Twinkies. They run into Wichita and Little Rock (Emma Stone and Abigail Breslin), these young innocent shawtys are not what they seem to be, as you learn later on in the film. The so called “team” of four changes their focus to seek out Pacific Playland, nestled deep in the Los Angeles, which is supposedly “zombie free”.
    Traditionally, zombie films are valued for their agenizing heart stopping horrors , but this one doesn’t live up to other, however Ruben Fleischer has made it unique and discovered a new genre; Zombie comedy. The film does offer a nice line on Columbus’s emotional frigidity and fear of social contact. He may have been a bit of a zombie before the apocalypse, but now his humanity has triumphed. A nice treat, which can be enjoyed every time.

  15. When I was younger I remember having to go through horrid ballet lessons. The teacher was a ugly, frustrating old lady, that probably had less rhythm than us. Although she did make good milkshakes I dreaded each lesson with passion.

    Watching a movie and by the end of it wanting to take up ballet again is a truly outstanding and electrifying movie. I’m not sure why Step Up had such an impact on me, maybe it was the relatable characters, the stunning dance moves or the breath taking main character, marvelously played by Channing Tatum.

    Step Up is about a ‘upper class’ ballet student from a rich background (played by Jenna Dewan) being forced to dance with a ‘lower class’ white kid that’s stuck in the thug life. There’s romance, breakups, passion, rivaly, violence and also outstanding dances.

    Step Up is a riveting movie that I could watch many times, its inspiring and breath taking, sucking me in thoughout the whole movie, even bringing me tears.

  16. It’s the 22nd century on the planet of Pandora, when humans are mining the precious mineral Unobtanium. The mining continues to effect the existance of a local tribe, the Na’vi, and something has to be done. “Avatar” directed and produced by James Cameron is the film I love the most. It incorperates a dramatic plot and a breathtaking visual effects experience. What captures me is the creation of a whole new existance and culture that seems so similar and as real as humans. The plot includes love, sacrifice, dedication, fear and greed. The Na’vi population ask only one thing of the humans, which is to leave them be. But as stated by Dr Grace Augastine, “They are just trigger happy marines.” It will call for dedicated scientists and the Local humanoids to work together to put the mining at a halt. The special effects is so accurate which makes the action scenes even more heart racing and tense. If you have seen it in 3D or have the chance too, it is spectacular and adds so much depth to the picture. The thing that really relates the humans and the Na’vi is the emotion on the faces of both in the happy and sad moments throughout the film.

    “Avatar” is a must see film and I have watched it many times over and I notice something new every time.

  17. Just like chocolate mud cake, Backstreet Boys’ Greatest Hits and sleeping in ‘til lunchtime on the weekends, “Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging”, the 2008 pashfest from director Gurinder Chadha is unquestionably a guilty pleasure. The movie makes no qualms about this; it does not pretend to be anything of more substance. Truth be told, it is dancing on the grave of any film which would aspire to taken as a serious contribution to the “teen coming-of-age genre”, with it’s knickers on it’s head, screaming small-town colloquialisms.
    Which is precisely why I love it.

    The cringe-worthy opening depicts Georgia Nicolson, inadvertently shaving off an eyebrow, freeing her cat, Angus, from the fridge, and in frustration declaring “Today is the first day of my life as the NEW Georgia.”
    The life of the new Georgia is soon to be complicated however, by the arrival of some “quality lushness” twin brothers from London. Georgia must entrance her Sex God of choice, Robbie (Aaron Johnson), out of the clutches of the coquettish and overbearing “Slaggy Lindsay”, who wears Bazooma enhancers and a thong, imported from Lindsay’s homeland, Vulgaria.
    Said entrancement, of course, is no easy feat for a girl of fourteen, with a nose the size of Jupiter, parents (comedians Alan Davies and Karen Taylor) from “well beyond the valley of the bonkers”, whose marriage is in danger after her father is transferred to New Zealand, and a little sister who thinks she is part cat. Of course with some scheming help from her Ace Gang (Eleanor Tomlinson, Georgia Henshaw and Manjeeven Grewal), some snogging lessons, and of course the Angus Advantage, Georgia manages to charm the socks off of her Sex God, and pull off a legendary fifteenth birthday party, simultaneously managing to convince her father’s company to transfer him back home.

    Slathered in cheesey predictability this film may be, but this in no way diminishes my enjoyment of it, even through to the ninth and tenth viewings. This film puts on no airs; and delights in it’s own sense of naïveté, which, taken at face value certainly provides plenty of laughs; with the multitude of creative one-liners sprung from the linguistic deviations of Georgia and her friends. Equally satisfying is the generous helping of moments which make you wince and squirm, and outstanding example of which being the 9 inch long string of saliva swinging between the mouths of Georgia and Peter Dyer (Liam Hess) at the end of their snogging lesson.

    This young cast delivers a plethora of entertaining moments which Chadha enhances with vibrant cinematography, her stellar assortment of British acts in the soundtrack, and a plot with aspects relatable to both people young and once were young. For me, this eccentric little film will always be “double cool with knobs on.”

  18. Beautiful Liam just beautiful…
    BUT NOT AS GOOD AS THIS!!! (:
    My favourite film of all time is “The Expendables.” If you’re looking for a film full of blood, gore and macho characters, then this film is for you! Written by Dave Callaham and directed by Sylvester Stallone, it is about a bunch of mercenaries who go out to destroy a dictatorship in South America. Full of nonstop action, “The Expendables” is a movie which really pulls the viewer in, it is. The film starts off in a set where the Expendables (a group of troops) infiltrate some pirates that are holding people ransom for money. The Expendables then move through to North America where they are to infiltrate and assassinate the head of the dictatorship and all for the sake of a girl. Little do they know that they will soon find themselves in a fight to the death against a large ferocious army driven to fight for their leader. From machine gun, to rocket launcher and machete, this film is really not for the faint hearted. This film had me gripping the bottom of the seat, eyes fixated on the screen, waiting to see what would happen next. This film is not very full of deep meaning or a very good film but as for entertainment, it’s a winner!!!!!

  19. Pingback: Julia on a film she loves – ‘Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging’ « english@kkc

  20. Black Beauty is a film I would have seen about fifty times as a child. Ever since my Nana first showed me this film, I became hooked. Some days I would watch this movie from dusk to dawn, never getting tired of watching the beautiful black horse and his friends, Ginger and Merrylegs, run and play in the fields.

    Beginning with his carefree days as a colt, Black Beauty encounters many cases of cruelty and kindness, but ending with his happy retirement in the country. During his life he meets a boy, Joe, and becomes attached to him. After Black Beauty is sold, he meets the horses Ginger and Merrylegs. Sadly, being sold again Black Beauty’s life becomes more and more of a misery: waiting and hoping to see Joe and Ginger again. After nearly two decades of moving to and from families, he finally finds Joe, “I’m here Beauty, I’m here”. This film makes you smile from ear to ear, but can also cause you to spill a few tears.

    No matter what age you are Black Beauty is an enjoyable film. But not only is it a film to remember, these a lesson to learn, how to treat animals with kindness and respect. For horse lovers like me Black Beauty is an unforgettable film which never gets old.

  21. I seem to love almost every Will Ferrell movie. This one, well this one just toped the charts in my books. It has no great lesson to be learnt or underlining plot that will some day help you to be a better person, but it was life changing! ‘The Other Guys’ is just a burst of pure awesomeness.

    When two oddly regarded New York cops seize the chance to step up and be the cities heroes their road is a little unorthodox. The mix matched pair of a nerdy detective, Allen Gamble (Will Ferrell) and Terry Hoitz (Mark Wahlberg) the cop who was being groomed for a seat in the top office, until he shot Derek Jeter, bring to light the story of ‘The Other Guys’. As you embark on the journey directed by Adam McKay you see the pair drive at high speed in to a crime scene screaming America, believing a suicide jumper is flying and Allen doing his first desk pop.

    ‘The Other Guys’ caters for a dry sense of humour but can be enjoyed by almost any that likes a amazingly funny movie. With this movie the comedy genre is well and truly conquered.

    If you don’t sit back and just have a good old fashion laugh for 1hr and 47mins with ‘The Other Guys’, “I swear to god I’m gonna beat the s**t out of you with Allen’s head”. Well I’m “not going to do that it’s a hyperbole but that’s a weird example”.

  22. The Lion King
    The lion king is quite literally the greatest movie of all time. With its lovable characters, incredible soundtrack and inspiring storyline. This is quite possibly the only Disney movie that can truly captive an audience whether young or old. It shows the story of a young lion who runs away after the death of his father, the king, who is killed by his evil uncle. After he flees and stays in exile for years he is finally persuaded to return to his fathers old kingdom to defeat Scar and return his bloodline to the throne. It has themes that everyone can relate to like family, loyalty and becoming an adult. It is one of the most popular movies of all time for all age groups, with its recurring theme of the circle of life and each persons destiny it is an all time classic.

  23. The tale of a man’s most extraordinary life and the struggles he has been through to get to where his is today. His mother always shed her light on the world and never hesitated to share her thoughts on the most important things on life but was consistently to let him know that he chose the paths that led him to his future.Through his journey he joins the army, saves his comrade’s life, is awarded a medal of honour, plays ping pong all around the world, runs across America, finds out he has a son, discovers that the love of his life is seriously ill and all throughout this is able to keep a smile on his face and love in his heart .This is the story of Forrest Gump.

    Forrest Gump has many underlying themes and messages, a frequent one being an admonition not to give up on life. He was truly an inspiring character for precisely that reason, it showed that a person with that sheer amount of determination could achieve anything, anywhere in the world. I will always recall this film throughout my life and I’m sure many others will too, as it can be related to almost everyone’s experiences. This film portrayed remembrance on some of the most joyful things in our lives and reflected on the important but often forgotten things in this world.

  24. You knew thoughts could be stolen from you while you are dreaming? Diving deep down into your subconscious and taking these locked away secrets, that you would want no one to find out about. That’s Inception for you. Leonardo DiCaprio plays ‘Dom Cobb’ a highly skilled thief of extraction, stealing thoughts from the mind while dreaming. Cobb is not able to see his children as he was blamed for his wife’s death. The job of Cobb is to not steal an idea, but to plant one in someone’s mind. In doing this he must make a three layer dream.

    This movie draws and captures the audience and really makes you think about what is happening. Making Inception one of the greatest movies. DiCaprio plays his character to perfection. With the emotion played seems quite real.

    I found the ending of this movie to be terrific. The shot of Cobb’s spinning top is used to remind the extracter whether he/she is in a dream or reality. As dreams are so exciting and unreal reality becomes boring. In a dream the spinning top will never stop spinning. On and on forever, where in reality it will topple. The closing scene of the spinning top continueing to spin make the viewers believe that he is stuck in the dream and cannot get out. It then wobbles and the credits roll down the screen. Leaving the viewers to decide what is going to happen next.

  25. One of my all time favourite books to read when I was younger was Charlotte’s Web by E.B White. After reading it a fair few times and never getting bored, you can imagine how excited I was when it came out in the cinemas in 2006. Charlotte’s Web is directed by Gary Winick and is an adorable story about a runt pig named Wilbur who is raised by 11 year old Fern, the farmer’s daughter. With the festive season soon approaching, Charlotte the spider weaves mysterious messages in her web in hope to save Wilbur from being on the table for Christmas dinner.
    Charlotte’s Web has many messages like the importance of friendship through the bond between Fern and the farm animals that live in the barn. There are also the underlying themes of loyalty, trust, love and justice that are woven all together in the story. The film really enhances the innocence of the characters and story line by the amazing choice of the actress Dakota Fanning who plays the role of Fern perfectly. Fern is my favourite character in Charlotte’s Web because of her love for animals and her determination to bring justice to what ever she can.
    When I watch this film I really get captured into the plot and emotion of Charlotte’s Web. The film setting is almost a perfect storybook farm filled with bright and refreshing colours and the sounds from the barn that leave you feeling warm inside.
    It is not possible not to fall in love with the story of Charlotte’s Web and although this film was meant for children I believe it will leave any age group feeling cleansed and open minded to anything.

  26. This film is not my favourite but one I did enjoy. The Boy In Striped Pyjamas was a great film and it really showed how the Jews were treated and it made think that New Zealand is one of the safest countries in the world and we don’t discriminate people like the nazis did. The book was so much better than the movie. It described Bruno’s adventures to the extreme and made you just want to keep reading till the end. The movie just didn’t have that joy of I want to keep watching this. It skipped the good and important parts of his life, journey and adventures. The movie did have extras in it that did make it intresting.

  27. Linda Hanson lives a normal suburban life, until one day she wakes up to find that her husband has died, and then wakes up the next to find that he is alive. Stuck in a crazy world of time travel, Linda tries to prevent her husband’s death, along the way she doesn’t know whats really happening, is she crazy? Or is she just stuck in a bad dream? Ultimately, as much as she tried to prevent it her actions lead to her husband’s death.
    Premonition is a gripping thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole way through, you never know what’s going to happen next. The role of Linda played is played superbly by Sandra Bullock, who is more well known for comedies, but plays the role of a confused, psycho mother excellently. Preminition has’nt had good reviews, critics have said that the plot is confusing and uncertain, but yet I think that is why I love the film, it constantly has you thinking what is going to happen next?

  28. The notebook.

    I love the film the notebook, it is about a boy from a poor family, called Noah and a girl from a rich family, called Allie. they meet in the summer fall in love. one day they have an argument and break up , they both realise that it was a mistake but it was too late because Allie’s rich parents already packed up and left. Noah wrote one letter to Allie each day for one whole year, but because Allie’s mother intecepts and hides every single letter Allie thinks Noah has moved on.

    Noah goes to the city one day and sees Allie in a resturant with her fiance, then he becomes determined to finish the house that he promised Allie he would build and he uses blue shutters like she asked for. he gets his picture in the paper with his finished house. Allie, days before her wedding sees the picture and decides to go and visit him. she gets to his house and can’t pull herself away.

    A thrilling movie when you are wondering exactly what happens.

  29. A film that I paticularly love is ‘The pursuit of happyness’ directed by Gabriele Muccino. This movie portrays the everyday struggles of daily life that too many people must contend with, I’m sure this is a movie that almost anyone could relate to. The movie is based on the true story of Chris Gardener, a father who fights his personal struggle to establish himself as a stockbroker while trying to manage fatherhood and homelessness along the way. The actor playing Chris Gardener is Will Smith whom is definitely one of my favorite actors, if not my favorite. Chris’s son Christopher Gardner is played by Will Smith’s son, Jaden and I feel that the on screen bonding between the two was very real and believeable as any father-son relationship would be.

    If anything, this film inspired me; It inspired me into believing that no matter how bad your life may appear at the time, with some determination and willpower, things will always get better and no matter how bad you think you have it, there will always be someone out there that has it worse.. This movie also portrays the fact that it doesn’t matter who you are, what colour your skin is, or where you come from, if you believe that you can get somewhere and you have the strive to do it, then anything is possible.

  30. When I was younger I remember watching loads of movies that i never understood, none have captured my imagination like Duma. Duma is a wild-hearted Cheetah who has an unbreakable friendship with a boy named Xan.

    Duma is directed by Carroll Ballard who fills the story with heaps of natural beauty and understanding with ‘edge of your seat’ suspense. During the film Xan faces lots of difficult challenges that makes your heart race, break and rejoice. Determined Xan decides to go ahead with the plans he a his father made to return Duma back to his home-land in the heart of Southern Africa, while its not too late to safely give back the freedom of Duma. To live and love where he truly belongs. On this epic journey Xan learns that everything can change in small matters of time, but not love.

    THis film really enhances the determination and love of what a young boy will do to save his best friend, Whenever I watch this film your always hoping that you hear about the story that followed the two part their own separate ways. Such an adventure would be tough enough with many people, imagine what it would have been like for a young boy to attempt such a journey by himself.

  31. Ruben Fleischer’s Zombieland surpassed Dawn of the Dead to claim its well deserved title of top grossing zombie film of all time. Nowhere else can you find such a brilliant 87 minutes of guns, zombies and humour, and what better mix is there?

    Unlike many other zombie films, Zombieland isn’t simply a collection of mindless violence. It still contains its fair share of violence, with zombie’s being shot, squashed and beaten, but its well moderated, meaning that when a zombie does get mashed by a falling piano, it becomes a memorable moment. But Zombieland’s main advantage over similar films is its incredible humour; Zombieland turns a zombie apocalypse into a comedy and does so excellently, resulting in the funniest recording of the obliteration of humans to date.

    The contrasting characters in Zombieland is the source of much of the humour, ‘Tallahassee’ (Woody Harrelson) is willing to take on any zombie he meet, and is more than likely to emerge victorious, his main motivation is a ridiculous quest to find the last Twinkie’s on earth. ‘Columbus’ (Jesses Eisenberg) is a rather timid college student who only survives by creating and strictly following a set of zombie apocalypse rules. These two opposites, only held together by rule 8, travel together towards their separate destinations which they are named after, the decisions the two make during their trip highlights their extreme differences and often leads to hilarity, with Tallahassee walking club-first into a zombie infested gas station, and Columbus following rule 22, “When in doubt, know your way out,” and planning their exit while Tallahassee searches again for his beloved Twinkie’s.

    Don’t expect too much realism while watching Zombieland, after all it is a movie based around the impossible scenario of a zombie infection, but added to that some of the characters actions can be questionable at times, but the movie is incredibly enjoyable and such a tiny flaw can be easily ignored by enjoying the film for what it is, a hilarious road trip, with zombies.

  32. I movie I like and think is inspiring is Mao’s last dancer.This movie is a drama and a true story it contains really heart warming but solid themes that capture your heart.
    The movie is about a small Chinese boy’s journey from poverty to international stardom. From a harsh given opprentiship as a classical dancer in communist china,to a strong self-expressed dancer who is free in america.But there was a price to pay for freedom,which was his family and home.
    The themes shown in the movie are themes of love,loss,passion,self expression,and main themes of never giving up and what it is to be free.
    These themes are something most people can relate to or take for granted,watching this movie makes you think about what is important and how truly amazing this dramatic passionate story is.

  33. A disabled marine embarks on an epic journey to the planet Pandora. Pandora is a war zone, a battle is being waged between Humans and the native Na’vi. The prize, unobtainium, a metal valued at twenty million dollars a kilo. The only problem, the native Na’vi’s ‘hometree’ a huge tree which houses an entire tribe of Na’vi, sits directly upon the largest deposit of unobtainium. The Na’vi are 10ft tall creatures which vaguely resemble humans, only they are much stronger and are reinforced with naturally occurring Carbon Fiber. Avatar is a story of Adventure, Action, and Drama. Avatar may seem like another action movie but its plot goes deeper, delving into some of the serious issues of modern society. Issues such as the way companies are exploiting the environment and the lives of many of the people they encounter so they can put their products on the global market.
    James Cameron has succeeded in producing another huge movie, with Avatar bringing in over 2 billion dollars to date. Cameron’s other hugely famous titles include Terminator, and Titanic. Avatar is a movie which has likely changed the way the world expects to watch films. Avatar is filmed in high definition 3D and not in the traditional sense, James Cameron utilizes 3D technology in a way that makes the environment seem amazingly real and defined, not simply make the picture ‘jump out at you’ as most other producers do. Because the difficulty and expense which was necessary to make Avatar, it is rumored to have cost 500 million to produce, but has revolutionized the way people expect to watch movies in the future.

  34. I have never had a dog so i didn’t really understand why they were referred to as mans best friend. I have seen many dog movies involving cheesey themes like detective dogs finding peoples belongings etc. But one dog movie that helped me see a real relationship between dogs was Hatchi.
    Watching Hatchi helped me to realise that dogs are just as much your family as your cousins or your sisters or parents.
    Hatchis history with his family is simply moving, you could really see the loyalty when Hatchi waited for his owner everyday and when his owner didn’t come back Hatchi continued to wait dispite the fact that everyone left.
    Hatchi has helped me to realise that the bond between a dog and his owner can last a life time.

  35. We all learn about things eventually. I always wondered what a Jew was. I knew that they were from a different country, but I didn’t realise why they were put in a concentration camp (You could call it a prison) just because they were a different race. My friends clearly knew about the Jews. They were clearly disturbed and devastated of what they heard and knew. Yet I was still in a state on pandemonium. Horror films showing gore scenes were my favourite, up until I saw “The Boy In Striped Pyjamas” . It was an extremely emotional movie, especially in the end when Bruno gets an acid shower with his Jew friend Shmuel. You could feel the pain, sadness and hopelessness.

    This heart breaking movie (directed by Mark Herman) and novel (made by John Boyne) was produced in 2008. The shocking storyline is about a friendship between two young boys during World War 2. One is the privileged son of a Nazi officer; the other is a Jewish prisoner in a concentration camp (Shmuel.) Bruno finds out that Shmuel is a Jew, but isn’t allowed to be friends. He soon makes a plan with Shmuel, and thought it would be interesting to see what it would be like for a day, to be in his shoes. In the end the boys both die together, as they got put in an acid shower and burned to death along with the other Jews.

    After the movie I thought I had seen a glimpse of the pain and horror, realising more about the Jews terrible ordeals. I also learnt why Jews were sent to concentration camp (which was really only because they were Jews) I found the film “The Boy In Striped Pyjamas” was such an emotional, heartbreaking, true story, which sits close to my heart. (This is the reason why I love this film; there’s nothing fake about it.) From now on, I will always feel sympathy every time I hear the word ‘Jew’.

Leave a Reply

